Saturday, January 24, 2009

95 Years of Service to Trinidad

The Trinidad Civic Club honored several women for their years of leadership at the Past Presidents' Christmas Tea on Dec. 4 at the Trinidad Town Hall meeting room. Since its beginning in 1913 the organization has provided service to Trinidad guided by a pledge to work for civic improvement, child welfare, education and “promotion of harmonious spirit.” Past presidents include Marilyn Westberg, Susan Morton, Marta Tennant, Donna Haddock, Kathleen Duncan, Patti Williams, Judy Heyenga, Elizabeth Tatcher and Mary Showers-Monroe.

The Trinidad Memorial Lighthouse was created and is maintained by Civic Club members and other local persons and the Town Hall's kitchen was upgraded to meet commercial standards. Through the years members have fundraised and done other activities to maintain the Town Hall, make donations to scholarships, the school, 4-H, trails, scouts and many other community needs. New members are always welcomed.

Letter to the T-S Editor
Posted: 12/11/2008 01:19:09 AM PST